The rumor of me being the next President of Haiti

I want to welcome everybody to my Monday blog and as Nostradamus predicted, so did I… Steelers have won the Super Bowl. LOL.  But I must say the Cardinals gave them a run for their money.

I want to thank all those that have read my first blog from six days ago. My prediction for today’s blog is that it will get a lot of media attention because of what I’m about to talk about. I am going to talk about Nel Ust Wyclef Jean as the next President of Haiti and where did this come from and will I run for office.

Well, let’s start by me asking you a question. What was the name of my group, The Fugees, first CD to hit the market? The name of the CD was called “Blunted on Reality”, which came out in 1994. When this CD came out, my group was struggling to get a spotlight in the main arena. If you weren’t an underground hip hop head, you probably can’t name one song from this CD. The album, “Blunted on Reality” meant that we were high on what was going on around us. Now, what was important on this CD was the skit that I created to show how young Haitians, like myself, were portrayed at the time in America. The skit started with Prize, one of my group members, asking a girl to go out on a date.  Once she found out he was Haitian, she replied, “ewww, I aint known you was Haitian, you stink!”. You see, in my school they use to say Haitians have HBO and when I asked what was HBO, they laughed and said Haitian Body Odor. They also called us “Aids carriers” and “boat people”, also demanding that we go back to our country.

Hip hop music during high school allowed me to voice my feelings, opinions, frustration, anger, joy and pain through beats and rhymes. I became the number one rapper in my school, going by my first name, Nel but making it sound cooler as a rapper, I called myself Nelly Nel. What I did, was use battle rhymes, similar to the movie “8 Mile”, so I could get respect as the best rapper in school. For I know, once they respected me as the best rapper, then they would respect the Haitians and stop teasing and beating on them as much as they did. At the time when I did this, I never thought that there would be a rumor circulating about me running for the Presidency of Haiti.  It just felt like the right thing to do, being that, that’s where I came from. There’s an old quote that says, “You don’t know where your going, unless you know where your from”.

Now lets quantum leap into 1996, when The Fugees performed at the Grammy Awards and I wore a Haitian flag on my head. I did this because I knew 20 million people were watching and if kids from Haiti saw this, they would know that I had achieved a level of success.  Through my success, they would feel successful knowing that now they need not be ashamed of where they come from, but be proud of their Haitian heritage. At the  time when I did this, I never thought that there would be a rumor circulating about me running for the Presidency of Haiti.

Let’s quantum leap again to the World Cup; Wyclef and Shakira. A billion people watching so I wore the Haitian flag again on my head to send the signal to the international community that there’s a new generation of Haitians on the rise, so they can’t count Haiti out of the race. At the time when I did this, I never thought that there would be a rumor circulating about me running for the Presidency of Haiti.

So if I was really campaigning for President, my campaign would had to have started in high school.  It makes me chuckle when the cynics criticize my work and say I do what I do because I have political ambitions.  For they don’t know that I never searched for stardom – stardom found me. I’ve never searched to be President of Haiti, this is the talk of the people, WANTING me to be President. This is the voice of the youth, wanting me to run for President. My mission in life is similar to my father’s mission, when he was alive, to touch and change people’s lives.  Writing music has allowed me to do this. I am grateful for my parents for getting me to America and I do believe, the United States of America is the land of opportunity.  So I seized the opportunity to exercise my freedom of speech through my music – but I am not a puppet, nor a Muppet. I did not come on Earth to sing or dance and drink the wine of the King, then go to my bed and fall asleep until the sunrise. We must help raise Haiti out of poverty.   As the sun rises, we need Haitians in Haiti, but without Haitians that live abroad, the country cannot benefit its true potential. Take me as an example, the most famous Haitian living in America today. If I never made it in America, what dream would I had to offer Haiti? If Haiti said to me “we do not want you to come back to our country.  You are no longer a Haitian because you have dual citizenship”. I say to the people of the world, knowledge is key.  That’s why we travel to get the knowledge, but we should be able to take the knowledge back home and share seats with the government…with the people.

We must not be blocked, nor stopped because of our dual citizenship.  This is where the problem lies. Just because we left Haiti, does not mean we can’t go back to Haiti. If you want people to take you serious, you must take yourself serious, get past the politics and let us start to deal with the real issues. If we do not act now, the ship will keep on sinking.  So I say to those who will worry about if I will be the next President, worry about the role you will play as a citizen of your land to help get it out of being the poorest country of the western hemisphere. For I have started my part, with a foundation called Yele Haiti (yele.org). When I started the organization, I said it would not be a charity, for it would be a movement – a non-political movement.  Therefore, I don’t need to be President.  I feel like I will be more beneficial to Haiti by not being it’s President.  Join us in the rise of Haiti, not in the downfall of Haiti. For the future ahead lies great difficulty.  Like I said on 60 Minutes, I plan to leave a big dent and hope Haitians and non-Haitian kids get inspired all around the world and turn the dents into cement, turning the cement into buildings. 

I leave you with these words of wisdom.. You should have bet on the Steelers. LOL.      

WYCLEF

12 Comments

  1. Now, how are you going to ruin such an inspirational, such a well thought out, (and at the time of this comment, I never thought that there would be a rumor circulating about me running for the president of the USA), such a great post with those horrible words of wisdom!!??!?!?

    Yeah they won… but they are bums.

    FU-GEE-LA LA it’s the way that we rock when we’re doin’ our thang!

    {come back to the DC mandarin!!!}

  2. Clef keep doing your thing. You’re the number one Haitian and I am your number one fan. I respect you for what you are and what you do. I will definitely fallow your step in my way. I’ll get back to Haiti and contribute in my way to the developpment of the country. I am doing a Ph. D. in Automatic in France. I am doing researches on how to organize and plan healthcare system in poor countries. Haiti is my field to experiment my models.

    Don’t be discourage man and as you say it, you have a mission and do not let you be discouraged.

    I am with you. God bless you.

  3. Great initiative. I hope to see more of your thoughts in the future about the Yele Movement, and how you plan to transform it from a charity to a movement (for true change and development) in Haiti. From my perspective, there’s no greater wrong in Haiti than child slavery that condemns tens of thousands to a life of servitude with no future and that allows others to get away with it by blaming Haiti’s obvious poverty for their reluctance to do what is right. Yele Haiti should campaign for universal primary education so that every child in Haiti has at least the foundation to succeed and the opportunity to see solutions where none seems to exist. I invite you to check out my website http://www.jmcstrategies.com for more on the restavek issue. Peace and keep on trucking

  4. with all due respect, this looks like ur testing the water to c what kinda reaction u may get…
    good luck!
    peace
    g

  5. Please do not ever turn to POLITICS as the vehicle to WORLD CHANGE, Wyclef… The use of your music to get there is way more POWERFUL than the use of POLITICAL SCIENCE. For music is the place your heart truly lies, not government or any “organized parties”. I’m grateful that you seem to already know this deep within…

  6. wyclef mwen 200% avek ou! usa ban mwen anpil oportinite. sa pa vle di mwen pap tounen nan peyi haiti o kontre mwen vinn lekol jew football epi al devlope peyim.wyclef “PA BRAN CHALE” fe chwa ki nan tet ou?

  7. Hello Mr Clef!!
    Is good to listen to your thoughts.
    I was your producer in Buenos Aires last year, on the Touch your button videoclip, and i must say that met you was an honour.
    I gonna check your blog for updates.
    Cheers from BS AS.

  8. What should people do to help Haiti?

    Education is essential to combat ignorance.

    The truth will lead to righteousness.

  9. Using your Celebrity to bring awareness to your Country is the best thing you can do, Clef. Going into politics, while it would be a revolutionary thing to do…it’s politics/tricks. And it would drain your creativity to have to deal with it. This way you bring the joy and promise that people need to escape and heal within the rhythms of your music…we wouldn’t want to lose that. And just keep supporting other Haitian artists and hosting events/tv shows (hint hint) that would give more visibility to the rich culture, beauty, intelligent minds , and independent power that eminantes from Haiti and its children.

  10. Yo, Wyclef:

    I’m a Haitian American poet and novelist. I hope to have a phenomelal hip hop artist use some of my writings in their music…I have been trying to contact you for a long time for this purpose. Here are my email address and a of my work:

    poeticstampede@yahoo.com

    Black as hell

    My hair is kinky, like lamb’s wool about my face.
    My feet, like fine grass, as if burned in a furnace.*
    I was born Black, under the Caribbean sky
    In the likeness of the Prophet of the Most High.

    Black, like a sweet berry, bathing in the sunsmile.
    Black, like the raven shores of my African Nile.
    My face explodes with West African dignity
    My voice echoes with the roar of the rolling sea.

    Every waking hour, I exist in blackness;
    And, every night, in bed, I sing in the darkness:
    Redemption songs, handed down the generations.
    Songs of ancient freedoms and African passions.

    I describe, in my verse, scenes of pain and sorrow
    Like my ancestors wrote of the whip of Pharaoh.
    Behind my drums, I push my Black rhythms away…
    You would think that Zion Train is rushing your way.

    I am Black like Jesus, from my toes to my head.
    I am Black in my faith, and I am Black in bed.
    Skin shades may run darker. Blacker man you won’t find.
    I am Black like the “savior” of this humankind.

    *Revelations, 1:14-15. King James Version

    Verses from my poetry:

    1) If, ever, I wanted to commit genocide,
    To cast an unwanted demographic aside,
    I would, first, pack them tightly against each other
    To maximize chances they’d eat one another.

    2) Welcome to this New World’s only superpower,
    Where Looney George presides as Man of the Hour.
    Lost souls worship Santa and the Easter Bunny
    While Father Law bangs boys with the holy money.

    3) Sinners crawl past peddling sweat, tears and blood…
    Barefoot!…in the cow-dong infested mud.
    ’Morning Sister Marie! ‘Morning my son!
    It’s always good to greet a sinless nun.

    4) Of War and Peace

    Some of us favor war…reckless, cold warriors.
    Most of us spread good love, and it is the lovers
    Who carry the answer.
    The remedy and true power
    Is manifest every hour,
    Whether life is sweet or sour
    Love power will carry your day
    And, out of sight, love guides your fucking way.

    5) Decision Time

    We have reason to doubt that this world will ever
    Adopt peace and justice. Let us wait no further.
    Let us accept as fact that we are savages;
    And wreak death and violence; and build stronger cages.

    Or shall we aknowledge our sins, repent and make amends
    And begin the fuck over, using noble means to reach noble ends?

  11. Sak passe… Hello to everyone, I’m Alex born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti and I currently reside in Montclair, NJ. I am a professional Tractor Trailer Driver/ Dump Truck (CDL) Driver. I am overwhelm and concerned with the devastation and I can arrange to take a leave of absence from my employer and travel to Haiti as volunteer Dump truck driver (Basscule) for a specific length of time, in order to help the situation in Haiti. I understand there is a great need and demand in this area. Mr Wyclef if you can use my services please let me know. Sincerely Alex.S

  12. Oh, I don’t believe that I selected the ability to Blog so…you can contact me directly at Asandaire@aol.com Thanks.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers