STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE

NEW YORK—The following is a statement by Wyclef Jean on today’s magnitude 7.0 earthquake outside Port-au-Prince, Haiti:

“Haiti today faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced.

The magnitude 7.0 earthquake – and several very strong aftershocks – struck only 10 miles from Port-au-Prince.

I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this tragedy worse. The over 2 million people in Port-au-Prince tonight face catastrophe alone. We must act now.

President Obama has already said that the U.S. stands ‘ready to assist’ the Haitian people. The U.S. Military is the only group trained and prepared to offer that assistance immediately. They must do so as soon as possible. The international community must also rise to the occasion and help the Haitian people in every way possible.”

Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text “Yele” to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit Yele.org and click on DONATE.

Haiti needs your prayers and support: Wyclef Jean on CNN
Click Here

128 Comments

  1. Wyclef, if you or any of your staffers read this, my cousin and I are ready to go to Haiti to provide our help. We want to physically go to Haiti to give a helping hand. Please let us know ASAP how we may do so. tweetenii@msn.com

  2. I know I’m not the only one willing and ready to go work alongside the Haitian people as they deal with this catastrophe. Will Yele accept international volunteers? I already had plans to go build with Habitat for Humanity in Cabaret the first two weeks of April… but I will have time to do other things while I am there. Deploy your warriors, many of us are ready.

  3. Wyclef, I will definately be donating to Yele.org as the situation in Haiti is such a tragedy. I have been listening to the news reports and encourage others to please donate as soon as possible. The situation in Haiti has been so challenging for so many years, due to politics, poverty, prior natural disasters, etc. But, this current situation is truly catastrophic. I am here in California, where I experienced an 8.9 earthquake in the Bay Area, so I can just imagine the affects of this 7.0 quake there in Haiti, given the structural conditions. My thoughts and prayers are with you, with the people in Haiti, as well as all the people in the world who have relatives and friends in Haiti that have been affected by this devastating natural disaster. People must put aside any pretenses and rise to the cause of helping others that are in dire need….it is our human duty. Peace and be stong.

  4. Quick correction on my reference above of the 8.9 earthquake in northern CA, it was the 1989 Loma Prieta California earthquake and it was a 6.9 magnitude. Thank you.

  5. […] enter­tainer Wyclef Jean talks to CNN's Anderson Cooper about the earth­quake that struck off the coast of Haiti. “Haiti […]

  6. When the Going Gets Tough

    Yet another tragedy has befallen my beautiful homeland. I am heartbroken to see the images of devastation and hear the reports of loved ones hurt and/or missing. I fear the news that dawn will bring as the full scope of yesterday’s earthquake in Haiti’s capital is revealed.
    Looking at the history of this nation is more like reading a Greek tragedy. Challenges, betrayals, and attacks have come from outsiders, would be friends, and worse yet-even our own people.
    What will be the outcome, is the question that keeps running through my mind. We have been here before. It may not have been Port- au- Prince or an earthquake, but this is a scenario that has played out many times before. At this very moment people are mobilizing for “relief efforts” to help the injured and the homeless in their time of need. I am grateful to hear of the aid that being offered from all over the globe, people who have seen their fellow man in need and have made the choice to lend a helping hand. But what will be the end result? After the rubble has been cleared away, the bodies buried, and bottles of water distributed- in what shape will Haiti be left in? In a world where one cable channel among hundreds alone takes up the call to spread the news of this tragedy, what hope is their that the world at large will keep its eyes turn to our small island when we are so easily distracted by the antics of celebrities, politicians, and individuals seeking publicity.
    In homes, barbershops, and churches across the world fellow Haitians will discuss and debate what is going on in our homeland. Many will call for more aid from abroad. But what will Haiti’s own countrymen do? After-all does not the responsibility of our country fall on our ,so quick to shrug, shoulders. When tragedy strikes we send a few dollars here and there to our loved ones in need and then forget about them returning to normal lives. When people talk of mobilizing and seeking change you hear talk of squandered aid and corruption. But when have we reached the point of no return? Has the camel’s back been broken, the last straw been pulled, are our backs now up against the wall???
    It is said that in order for a person to change they must hit bottom and then acknowledge that they have a problem. Can the same be said for a nation? Books can be written and debates held on the what has brought Haiti to where it is today. In time, all civilizations fall, but can a people who have seen so much pain and suffering be given hope and the chance to be prosperous and self-sufficient once again. I believe we can. We have to stop placing blame and start making those tough decisions. We have to realize that cooperation not manipulation, begging, or politics is the answer to our problems. And last but not least, we Haitians have to make the changes we want to see happen, with or without the aid of others.

  7. Dear Brother Y.

    I am a Social Worker and willing to start a clothing drive for the beautiful people of Haiti. This earthquake is devastating. If you are planning to travel their with relief, I am willing to lend a hand and can gather other Social Workers to help out. Let me know where to drop the clothing off to. The people in Haiti have suffered so long and we should all work to make Haiti a paradise instead of a hell on earth because your poor. Just because Haiti started a revolution for its freedom, does not mean the decedents must pay the price for the rest of their lives.

  8. Social Workers willing to help….

    secs38@hotmail.com

  9. guys I want to contribute by sms but it is not allowed from Italy. how can I do it ?

  10. […] STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE « Wyclef Jean's BlogWe are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cel… […]

  11. […] @Wycle Jean’s plea and blog […]

  12. IMPORTANT
    Hello Wyclef, I am a Montrealer living in Santiago Dominican Republic. I have many contacts on the island for heavy equipment and man power. I want to use my resources to help the people of Haiti.
    Robert Saad

  13. Wyclef,

    I must admit, usually when disasters happen like this in other countries, I read it in the headlines and go about my day. But because of you Wyclef and the attention you’ve brought to the people of Haiti, my heart truly breaks.

    I just got done watching some raw footage of the disaster… and in it, there were dead children. ………… that was enough for me to step up and do my part. And I encourage others to do so.

    I never question Gods judgement and why things happen. But to see children suffering… it breaks me down. And so my thoughts and prayers are with the people of Haiti. And to you also Wyclef. Because I know you’ll be a leader in helping with the recovery. I pray that God gives you the strength and resources you need in order to do so.

    If there’s something you need… just blog about it. You’re supporters are here to help.

  14. robertsaad2655 tweet Wyclef twitter. He is in DR trying to make his way into PAP

  15. WYCLEF YOU ARE ALL OF US WHO CANNOT COME TO HAITI FOR HELPING THE CHILDREN . PROUD PROUD PROUD OF YOU .
    ITALIAN PROUD YCLEFSTER .

  16. […] aid to the island – and began organizing the first relief efforts. International music star Wyclef Jean issued an eloquent statement on his blog, and people are volunteering to make the trip to Haiti to […]

  17. Hi there,

    here is DIGITAL TEMPLE Magazine.

    We write you this comment to know if we could help you and Haiti.

    We are from France.

    We was thinking to realize a special news and layout on our platforms to inform our readers.

    Can you please contact us to realize this together please ?

    We want to realize something special with you, we hope that you will have time for this.

    Keep on writing.

    DIGITAL TEMPLE MAGAZINE
    Design, Art & Lifestyle // Read a Culture

    DESIGN PHOTOGRAPHY FASHION
    ILLUSTRATION PAINTING MOTION MUSIC
    Website : http://www.digital-temple.com
    @ : request@digital-temple.com

  18. ALL – Please repost this donation information in your Facebook, Twitter, and Myspace accounts. Let’s get the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund to go viral.

    The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer group on Facebook went from 135 members to 135,000 members in just a handful of days when that “post the color of your bra” thing went viral. We should do the same for Haiti!

  19. Will support as much as possible for the cause. Read my part here.

    http://missjhane.wordpress.com/2010/01/12/dear-haiti/#respond

  20. My prayers are going out to the people of Haiti; I am, however, heartened by how many people are seeking ways to help.

  21. […] « Massive Earthquake in Haiti Statement by Wyclef Jean January 13, 2010 This link is to Wyclef Jean’s blog, where donations and support links are provided. Recuers try and free a woman trapped in the […]

  22. Greetings All. If anyone is interested in funding my trip to Haiti to help volunteer please email me and blubberboy06@hotmail.com or call me at 1(405) 641-8749.

    Mt name is brandon Herrera andI want to Help.

    peace, G-d bless, ONE LOVE

  23. OK… hears the word. A very kind lady just called me from Orange County California.

    She’s Got SOAP, LOTION, GIRLS ” STUFF” Shampoos, etc.., AND basic sanitary stuff

    that people need.

    She is unable to fly out to Haiti and deliver, but I CAN and WILL. wITH YOUR HELP.

    Justina ( the lady in california) is going to mail me all these toiletries, and I will will fly

    them to Haiti and give them away. I Need $ 800 dollars to fund an airplane ticket to

    Haiti. If anyone at the wycleff Office can call me about this position my number is

    1(405) 641 8749. And for all people, if you want to make a little donation and help

    fund this trip you have my number. Let me know. I will knock on doors asking people

    for basic toiletries( soaps, toilet paper, shampoo etc..)

    Right on , let’S GET ERR DONE!

    pEACE G-d bless, One LOve

    1( 405) 641 -8749 – Brandon

  24. I forgot to mention I would leave January 18th on Monday, and come back January 24th on a sunday.

    please Donate $800 lets do it

    Thank you

  25. […] Musician/Humanitarian and Haitian activist Wyclef Jean has released a statement about the earthquake in Haiti, and his efforts to aid the people of Haiti: http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/ […]

  26. I am completely devasted by the unfortunate catastrophe that happened in the beloved nation of Haiti. My heart is weeping in tears and although I have no affliation with that country or culture, I feel pain and heartbreak to all those that have died, suffered, and have lost loved ones in this horrific event.

    I know I can’t do much but I want to help. I’m going to blog, text, and inform all those about the donation via texting for the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund and notify all those of the donation website as well. I know it may not be much but once I get the word out there, I’m sure many will follow with wanting to help.

    God bless u, Wyclef with ur continued devotion and support for ur great nation!

  27. I put something up on WGM and hopefully this creates more donations and help towards Haiti. Check it out and if there is anything else I can do, please let me know.
    Link: http://wp.me/pkTAc-ln

    Randy
    WGM

  28. Wycleff and staff –
    My name is Evan and I am a journalist for Channel One News (a nationwide, high school newsbroadcast that reaches 6 million + teenagers). We have a reporter and DJ in route from the DR to Haiti right now. I heard your call for journalits to find you. How can we get in touch? Our reporter/DJ have a driver and can meet you on location in Haiti. Please contact me and let me know how to get in touch with you and your staff. Call or email me at grolle@cbsnews.com or 212-975-1168. Thank you, good luck.

  29. […] foundation’s twitter page here (@yeleHaiti). And, as noted before, Jean’sWP  blog has donation and outreach info as does his Twitter […]

  30. […] Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text “Yele” to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit Yele.org and click on DONATE. -Wyclef […]

  31. Wyclef, if you or any of your staffers read this, I would like to be of help too by actually going down to Haiti and helping out. Please let me how I can contact one of your staffers to see how I might be about to help. mingvase@gmail.com.

  32. Please continue to show your support for the survivors of the Haiti earthquake by joining the Haiti Earthquake Appeal facebook group.
    Thank you

    http://www.facebook.com/inbox/?tid=1211867345341#/group.php?gid=253817336231&v=info&edit_info=all

  33. Please continue to show your support for the survivors of the Haiti earthquake by joining the Haiti Earthquake Appeal facebook group.
    Thank you

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=253817336231&ref=mf

  34. […] can read his full statement and see his interview with CNN on Tuesday night below: “Haiti today faced a natural disaster of […]

  35. What a terrible tragedy. Your friend Alexander Rybak in Norway har left a message on his Facebook wall asking all of his fans to help the people of Haiti, I hope many of them will and many already have.

  36. […] Without Borders; complete infor here. Yéle Haiti has also set up a mechanism for donation—from Wyclef Jean’s blog: We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone […]

  37. Read more http://usspost.com/haiti-earthquake-relief-4051/

  38. […] STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE In Breaking News on January 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE […]

  39. We will do what we can, Clef! Our prayers go out to you and all those affected by the devastation. It has also been posted at JunSix’s website as well so more people can know how they can help. Thank you so much for your devotion to this. I came to your site because I know it will get to the people that need it. Blessings!

  40. These moving pictures impact the devastation caused by this tragic disaster

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=photos&gid=253817336231

  41. […] rapper Wyclef pleads for relief and support for his native country of […]

  42. […] Wyclef’s blog This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 13th, 2010 at 11:07 amand is filed under […]

  43. My prayers, thoughts, and heart goes out the Haiti. It was an unforseen and unprecetended natural disaster that hit this beautiful yet vulnerable nation. We cannot control nature, but we can control our efforts to assist. I myself am half haitian, and over the course of the last few years, I have become more aware of the culture and conditions of Haiti. I would like to contribute by visiting the country and assisting in its relief efforts to rebuild the cities affected by this earthquake. I also want to find an organization or some humanitarian group that regularly works with Haiti in improving the country in various ways. Wycelf or anyone else, if you have any suggestions or information, please forward it to me. my email is yami454@yahoo.com. I would like to visit Haiti with an organization or group during spring break (April 2010) while I am off from school to help.

  44. ZICO is donating coconut water to Haiti and would like to donate through the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund. Please contact Sherif at sherif@zico.com to help donate to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected.

  45. […] organization and we keep the Yele button on our blog to spread the word to all of our visitors. His plea for everyone to donate $5 by simply sending a text is being re-tweeted like […]

  46. Hotep

    I’m ready to go my Brotha

    I have and will continue my help through Yele as well

    just got off the Rob Thomas tour, I will send the word out to my friends there as well

  47. Good Morning,

    Firstly, I would like to offer my sincerest prayers and condolences for the current state within Haiti.

    I am an employee of the New York City Department of Education in Flatbush Brooklyn with a large population of students and staff with family within Haiti. We at the school are taking efforts to provide services to our students and staff, but we are also putting into place our own relief initiatives. We need direction though.

    If possible, please provide us a list of services or supplies that you will or may need in your efforts to provide aid. I will be reaching out to other schools and community arms to pool our efforts.

    I am ready and will to help!

    Celina Acham

    cacham@hotmail.com

  48. […] Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text “Yele” to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit Yele.org and click on DONATE. -Wyclef […]

  49. […] earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” the Haitian-American music star wrote on his blog. “I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this […]

  50. […] earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” the Haitian-American music star wrote on his blog. “I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this […]

  51. Although it will be a challenge to get donations, medical care, and food to Haiti due to a blockage of debris and rubble on the roadways to and from the airport, I ask that we press on. There is nothing God cannot do if we believe. Peace and love go to my haitian people both here in the states and abroad in Haiti, especially during this devastating condition estimated to have affected close to 3 million people in Port-au-Prince (Petionville) and around its its broadering cities (Jacmel and Carrefour). Be of good courage and keep the faith. God will provide a way in doing so not only through the support of philantropists and humanitarians around the world, but also by the spiritual strength and emotional support by our own ppl and by ppl who aren’t afarid to love across races and cultures despite socioeconomic statuses because love is the only thing that remains after all materialistic things perish. A big thank you to President Obama and his administration for their immediately action and dedication to relief efforts.. His exclaims the importance to assist during this hour of need. Also a special thanks to Dr. Stephen Carryl and Dr. Jean Claude Compas from Brooklyn who are organizing donations for relief in Haiti and are arranging to travel there to medically assist the country. Notwithstanding, Mayor Bloomberg, Councilman Mathieu Eugene, and Elsie St. Louis Accilien (from Haitian Americans United for Progress) are being very resourceful in rallying up NYC of all ethnicities to help.

  52. The unbelievable tragedy in Haiti has prompted my organization, The Rocky Mountain Cannabis Convention and Wellness Expo to invite Wyclef Jean to our event on July 9th and 10th 2010. We expect 100,000 members of the public to attend this one of a kind event and would like to use this as an opportunity to provide life saving relief to the struggling people in Haiti.

    We would like to donate 100% of the proceeds of our after party with Wyclef’s assistance, to the relief efforts in Haiti through his fund Yele.org. Please respond immediately so that we may set up this benefit. My direct line is 970-215-4505 or you can email me at december@rmccdenver.com.

  53. Haiti is in my prayers and I’ll contribute to Red Cross, Thank you for your efforts to bring this situation to the forefront.
    Robminx
    http://www.robminx.wordpress.com

  54. Please wyclef!!!!! Help give us the opportunity to redeem as you out it our idle hands. Help give us the opportunity to do God’s work and aid the ones from whom we are descended. The search for an opportunity to do so has come to no avail. So I turn to you. If you are so moved to do so. CONTACT ME @ jimmyjuste@gmail.com. I want to help. I need to help.!!!!!!!!!!!!

  55. I’m going to give, but Wy, you should 1st go to someone like Beyonce n’ her hubby. They made over 100 mil last year. Ask them . We have bills to pay. They have playmoney galore. David Beckham made 40 mil last year(for what?) Ask him. Sure, ask us, but ask us after you’ve asked them.

  56. scudsbrother Im pretty certain the persons willingness to give is what matters in the universe not who you ask or who else has given. And how are you certain he hasn’t asked?

  57. I am a healthy 33 year old who is ready to get over to Haiti and help in any way! Unfortunately I have very little money as I work for the Oakland ca public school district but I do have accesses to plane ticket and want to fly over and help!!! Please let me know where I can go to help……..I can leave a.s.a.p! Noemie N.

  58. After making a few phone calls, it seems that organizations are preparing to go later in the month. Since this wasn’t anticipated and they don’t have private planes, they’re having meetings later this wk to organize themselves. Right now they’re letting professional organizations such as Red Cross & Habitat for Humanity, among others, be the immediate response teams. You may call help relief orgs., haitian news mediums, and council members to leave your name and # for the scheduling of meetings to plan the trips.

  59. MORE help!!
    WGM Post: BlackFlagShoppe Haiti Food Drive in Clifton, NJ!!! http://wp.me/pkTAc-lu

  60. hundreds of thousands dead? in haiti? its a good start

  61. […] thought of Wyclef Jean at that moment, a Haitian national. I truly hope his family is OK. He made a statement on his website, urging people to donate. I can’t say much more on this. I will be calling my bank to see if I can make a donation by […]

  62. Your website

    http://www.yele.org has crashed. you should call your webmaster immediately. no one can get through.

    Claim This Domain
    The final step in mapping your domain to Squarespace is setting up the mapping in your website manager. In your site manager, go to Custom Domain (under the Structure & Style heading) and claim this domain for your website.

  63. You can go straight to the donation page here

    https://co.clickandpledge.com/advanced/default.aspx?wid=23093

  64. wyclef I bring the support of French people who think the bruised
    al1.berteau@hotmail.fr

  65. WE HAVE FOOD FOR HAITI!
    We want to send AT LEAST 840 bottles of Pasta Sauce.
    Please tells us how to do this!

    denise@goldsteincom.com

  66. I am a Florida Registered Architect that would like to offer free designs to help out in Haiti. I just began drafting low-budget apartments that may be built by lay-people. Plumbing should be simple, structure should be simple. I just don’t know who to contact to get this going. I may be contacted at troymoses@yahoo.com or http://docs.google.com/View?id=dchr84bm_16dsjh9pcj

  67. my prayers go out to all the haitian people!
    it is a tragedy and I hope that Obama will keep his promise and help them out asap!

  68. […] http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/ Archives Select Month January 2010  (17) View This Pollsurvey software Categories […]

  69. We would LOVE to hear your story on ABC Radio in Los Angeles, CA — Please contact Producer Les 818.326.0963 or Les717@yahoo.com. We want to put the word out in Los Angeles. We’re hoping to book for tomorrow morning. Please contact us.

    Thank you and stay safe!!

  70. […] proceeds do in fact get to the people of Haiti and those attempting to help them, please read over this post from Wyclef Jean and follow the directions he […]

  71. […] Wyclef Jean link to Yele Haiti relief drive- http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/ […]

  72. Wyclef and all of Haiti, my son and I send our prayers to your Country. We don;t have much, but would like to donate clothes to the people. If someone could let us know what agency to use to get the clothes there I would like to do this. We will donate to Yele and hope this will help some. I just seen on the news about the Salvation Army and I will check with them about the clothes. May GOD be with all of you in this trying time. Our hearts go out to all of you. God Bless You. NC

  73. Haiti is in my prayers…

  74. I am a Florida Registered Architect that would like to offer free designs to help out in Haiti. I just began drafting low-budget apartments that may be built by lay-people. Plumbing should be simple, structure should be simple. I am trying to gather a team to get this going. I may be contacted at troymoses@yahoo.com
    Here is my professional profile: http://docs.google.com/View?id=dchr84bm_16dsjh9pcj

  75. My heart aches for the people of Haiti! I only wish money could bring back those who have lost their lives. I don’t have much but I want to donate one of my songs to you, Wyclef. You are the only person I trust to make sure every penny will go exclusively to help the people of Haiti. Please accept my donation and God Bless you for all that you are doing and that you have done and will continue to do. e-mail me: janiceintheshade@msn.com

  76. This is behond aweful! Its a good thing that Haiti is not far from us and we have unleashed all of our might..Helping with aid, ships, planes, and our military is in route to help as much as we can as always! I really feel bad for all the the heart broken people and the misery, We gotta help em out, Bill gates and warren buffet need to get on board now!

  77. […] Statement by Wyclef Jean on Haiti Earthquake NEW YORK—The following is a statement by Wyclef Jean on today’s magnitude 7.0 earthquake outside Port-au-Prince, […] […]

  78. Could someone direct me to where we report those who are trying to make a profit off this devastating and catastrophic loss of life? I ran across a WordPress earlier that made me sick to my stomach as the author was trying to market herself in a profit off such event with the assured promise “that if anyone purchases her product she would give 5% to charity” (coming after she blames the people for what happened because they aren’t Christian). The link to such is prophetlady.wordpress.com/2010/01/14/the-store-%C2%AB-dawns-divine-designs-and-writings-a-business-and-spiritual-site/ –Thanks any help would be greatly appreciated.

  79. i just want to send out my prayers to all my fellow haitians and my grandparents in petion ville hope everyone stays strong and we hear your cry for help in central florida. i just want to find out if i can some how donate about $200 worth of water and make sure you get it wyclef. thanks prayers to your family as well bro.

  80. […] an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” Jean wrote on his website last […]

  81. […] left thousands presumed dead and has prompted calls for help from famous names far and wide. In a statement, former Fugees member Wyclef Jean, 40, declared the quake a natural disaster of […]

  82. […] Statement by Wyclef Jean on Haiti Earthquake: "Idle hands will only make this tragedy worse." Reposted from wyclefjean.wordpress.com […]

  83. We must convince US gov to deploy hospital ship USNS COMFORT and transport Doctors Without Borders and other nonprofit orgs ready to go with personell and supplies to Haiti NOW. How can we tell our government to send it now, and avoid a catastrophic outbreak of typhoid and other epidemics that will spread to the entire region and beyond?

  84. […] Wyclef Jean’s blog is keeping up with the latest news in Haity and ways we can help the people in that country. […]

  85. […] following is a statement released by Wyclef Jean on his blog yesterday afternoon (the beginning being an excerpt from […]

  86. Brotha Wyclef and all people helping our families in Haiti

    there will be a broadcast on http://www.innerlightradio.com

    7AM PST / 10AM EST

    we will be simulcasting on 8 stations nationwide to support for Haiti.
    thank you and we will continue to donate to Yele.org

    K

  87. […] Jean, leads Yele Haiti Foundation to appeal for donations to their Earthquake Fund. Check out Wyclef Jean’s Blog for more […]

  88. […] posted on his blog: “Haiti today faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike […]

  89. GERMANY, help WYCLIFF´S helping organisation!!!

    GERMANY i know u cand dig it BETTER, 1,5 MIO for HAITI,
    are u Joking, are u MFS??? what whould U need in this situation what
    would USA do for U??? EVERYTHING!!! so give all u can and do not show
    ur ugly face again so deeply…we know u can make it better, u can make
    it good! MORE Money for HAITI! defenitly! otherwise a real pitty, 1,5 mio….even one HUMANKIND life IS MORE WORTH than THAT! let the world be as One! HELP!

  90. […] 2010 OPP – 1/14 (Jay Reatard, Wyclef Jean, more) var addthis_pub="earfarmmusic"; Wyclef Jean is reaching out for help in response to the earthquake that struck his homeland of […]

  91. […] an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” Jean wrote on his website last […]

  92. My heart is in pain for the family that has lost love one due to this earthquake. It is such a massive tragedy for this country. “Lord help” is my prayer.

  93. […] an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” Jean wrote on his website last […]

  94. I,too, am interested in going to Haiti to work on the relief effort. I worked as (a civilian contractor) with PHS in the months after Katrina, providing logistics as different officers moved in and out of the field and as medical teams moved from area to area. I’m currently in Germany. I’m reaching out to folks I know in the U.S. who do this kind of work, but I though I’d pass my information along here as well, in case I might be of help. My email address is suzannerobinson@gmail.com.

  95. sak kap fet
    My name is Karen, I’m emailing you on behalf of the Haitian Org at Seton Hall University, NJ. As you know the earthquake that occurred in Haiti has affected not only the Haitians living in Haiti but the Haitian Americans who have family members in Haiti. The reason I’m emailing you is because I want to help your relief program help the Haitian Community that was affected by this major catastrophe. By this I mean I am in the process of organizing a fundraiser at my school, Seton Hall. The Haitian Org, also known as Haitian Organization Promoting Education aka H.O.P.E would like to know that the money that we raise, could it go to your Haitian Relief program, YELE. We have not yet commence because our school year, Spring 2010, has not begun until, next week, but I would like to finalize the purpose of this fundraiser and get your agreement to accept our donation that we will come up with, because we do care and we would like our donations to go to a great cause and to a relief program that we can trust. Thank You again. Also may God bless you on the work you have done previously and will do in the future for Haiti.
    P.S May you please email us back with your answer and any other addition ideas that may help our fundraiser become more effective to you and the Haitian Community.
    my email is karen14123@yahoo.com

  96. Wyclef I am so sorry 4 this tragedy your country has endured. My heart & prayers go out to them all. I have been watching CNN non-stop …there are moments I have cried at the sight of certain scenes but this is the worst thing I have ever seen. I have posted your donation text and also the one CNN stated so that I can get all of my friends to donate as well. I myself have pledged my donation but of course I know it isn’t enough. If I could go over there to help out trust me I would. If you need any Ameician’s to fly out I will go immediately. Every tragic event is bad but this to me is worst than 911. We lost almost 3000 people that day but Haiti has lost so much more. I feel terrible for them and I will continue to pray! Stay strong and know we are all here to help. If I could go there & pick up a few children I would. I’m so, so sorry this has happened. Please keep your head up, I pray you have not lost any family member’s and we are here to help. WE ARE THE WORLD & WE WILL HELP U B/C THEY SHARE OUR WORLD !!

  97. I wish this donation option was possible with every country

  98. My prayers go out to the victims of the Haiti earthquake. My eyes are filled with tears after seeing the devastion, destruction and the loss of life this earthquake has cause. I hope the global community responds as quickly as possible to prevent further loss of life. I only hope the small donation I made today helps.

  99. PEACE AND BLESSING TO THE WORLD

    MY HEART GOES OUT TO HAITI AND MY PRAYERS AS WELL. WHEN IT’S TIME TO COME TOGETHER IT IS TIME TO COME TOGETHER AND I’M SO GLAD THAT NO MATTER WHAT WE CAME TO GETHER AS ONE BIG FAMILY. NO MATTER WHAT OTHER PROBLEMS WE HAVE WE CAN KEEP ON REACHING OUT TO HELP OTHERS. THANK YOU WORLD FOR THE SUPPORT AND BE STRONG AND TAKE CARE. PEACE

  100. […] “Haiti has faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” Jean wrote on his website. […]

  101. My name is Parthenia. I’m disgusted at the way the UN and the other 32 countries are acting. Either take control or leave. Then the press speaks negative in a sly way about the people of Haiti. My brother is down there and he says he sees nothing violent just suffering. Jacques and his crew are overwhelmed by the many injured and need help which is out there but the UN has moved many doctors out. I will go there carrying supplies, food and much more on my back to get to as many as I can. Help!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are just too many stupid deaths there. I am one but with Allah’s help maybe I can inspire those doctors and many more to just take a chance and help. Get out there and just help these people who are suffering so much……Move away from the airport and go directly to the center of the hardest hit area and just HELP

  102. […] following is a statement released by Wyclef Jean on his blog yesterday afternoon (the beginning being an excerpt from […]

  103. I´m doing what I can trough donations . May the International Help act faster

  104. how to go haiti and help this people???

  105. As Haiti looks for a plan to rebuild consideration should be made as to the structures that are used. Unlike manufactured housing, SIP(Structurally Insulated Panels) engineered Kit homes are able to withstand Cat 5 hurricane force winds. SIP Kits are easy to transport and assemble. We at Builtsmart Resources would like to be part of the rebuilding effort in Haiti and would like to discuss how SIP KITS may play an integral role in this process. We will not just rebuild, we will rebuild a sustainable future.

    Please contact me and us know how we can help.

  106. […] an example. Using the very same blog that we are using for this class, Wyclef Jean created a blog (http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/) and sought funds to aid his fellow Haitians during this disaster. On the site, you can send texts […]

  107. […] an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced,” Jean wrote on his website last […]

  108. I have been looking forward to Wyclef comin to Brisbane my whole adult life! It’s on my lifes list of things to do. Not to sure if he’s still coming now but when i saw the news i knew that the man i admire so much…had more important things to take care of. My heart and prayers are with you Clef as you undertake your sorrowful journey, and yet i know thats not the way you would describe it. You will face many trials and tribulations and witness strength courage and faith you didnt know existed. God will bless you through the people that you run forth to help.

    I have donated to this cause but i want to help more! If there is any organisation that i can jump on board with, so that i can get straight in there, and start helping people one by one? i will.

  109. Wyclef PLEASE ask the government of Haiti NOT to stop searching for survivors. The people are resilient! They are still finding survivors even yesterday. Imagine if it was your loved one, or yourself. buried alive, unhurt but unable to free yourself and you hear people above you but they don’t hear you, and you hear them walk away, giving up on you only to leave you to die slowly from starvation and dehydration. The families who have lost so much deserve us to keep searching until all bodies are recovered. We have the resources and the teams to do it, so why stop? I firmly believe there are still survivors waiting to be rescued, and they and their loved ones of those survivors need people to continue searching. I am just heartbroken that we are giving up on them by giving up the search for people, when survivors were still being found 24 hours ago say that there are still living people. We can’t just assume they are all dead. We can’t just leave them. Please talk to whomever you can and ask them not to give up.

  110. […] Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit Yele.org and click on DONATE. -Wyclef ShareSHARETHIS.addEntry({ title: "Haiti Hit With A 7.0 Earthquake", url: […]

  111. […] STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE […]

  112. To prove my post above from a couple of days ago, people are still being found alive. The government should not be giving up just because statistics say you can’t live past 72 hours. They forgot that these were Haitain people who are very resilient and have been through so much already and have strong faith. Today after 15 DAYS they found a girl alive. They cannot give up on these people. TELL them not to give up searching. I would hope that they would not give up on me if I were still trapped in the rubble!

  113. Wyclef,

    I saw both the shows and 2 questions came to my mind. Why in this world the countries that need the least number of doctors have the most number of doctors and the countries where these doctors are needed the most have the least number of doctors? Why do people think about themselves before they think about the people who could use and appreciate their help the most. I was born and raised as a hindu child. My religion taught me to give as much as I can give back because I came empty handed and I am going back the same way. I am not a doctor or a builder. I guess what I am trying to say is I am a giver. I want to give back whatever I can and I will consider that as my biggest financial investment and gain. Please email me at cuttyme@hotmail.com and let me know what I can do to give. My word is a promise.

    Thanks,
    Arti

  114. I am sick of the people exploiting this in selfish and racist ways. As you, Wyclef, said o Oprah, “No photo ops.”. I so agree.

    All please read this story. I posted and very critical comment. Help yourself as well. I’m just tired of people not treating the suffering and dying in Haiti with dignity and instead turning the whole thing to make about themselves as the heroes. Please tell people to stop this offensive, insensitive and racist behavior.

    Dallas-area CEO heads to Haiti to make order out of chaos

    http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/dn/yahoolatestnews/stories/020710dnmetceomike.3f72879.html?so=TimeStampDescending#slcgm_comments_anchor

  115. […] posted on his blog: “Haiti today faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike […]

  116. I am a Rapper from Lacey, WA. Myself and a Partner of mine are putting on a benefit Concert called “Hip Hop for Haiti @ WSU Campus on April 23rd. I know Wyclef is a busy man, and we don’t have the funds to pay for him to come… But it would be a great deal if Wyclef were to come show his support for this concert. It is a concert that will have performances from artists who are concidered, from the streets, hardcore rappers, gangsta’s, or negative. We just want to show that, even though our music might sound harsh, we still would like to do our part in helping people who need help. If Wyclef can please contact me @ myspace.com/1sash7 or 1sash7@gmail.com , that would be great. Hopefully we can come together for this benefit concert.

    Thank you,
    Young SASH

  117. […] then, slowly, despite the 230,000 estimated deaths and the rebuilding campaign led by Wyclef Jean, the earthquake was overtaken by ‘new’ news […]

  118. These kind of news are always so awful… Let’s keep good care of the people of Haiti together! (:

    Regards,

    Harry Potter

  119. […] a link to a statement from one of the world’s most famous modern day Haitians, Wyclef – http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/. $jl.blog_url = "http://www.hetoreahamstring.me.uk/blog"; #livefyre-root #livefyre { […]

  120. […] ^ STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE […]

  121. Apology if the link i post here [http://www.ipernity.com/blog/140862/332044?t=79860&c=1&s=edit] [or other links/pgs in that blog] is of any bother or offends anyone.i’m sorry. i am – a thinker luv helping all so i share ,peace

  122. http://bike-crimea.com scudsbrother Im pretty certain the persons willingness to give is what matters in the universe not who you ask or who else has given. And how are you certain he hasn’t asked?

  123. […] STATEMENT BY WYCLEF JEAN ON HAITI EARTHQUAKE […]

  124. […] an example. Using the very same blog that we are using for this class, Wyclef Jean created a blog (http://wyclefjean.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/statement-by-wyclef-jean-on-haiti-earthquake/) and sought funds to aid his fellow Haitians during this disaster. On the site, you can send texts […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers